Troy Woman to Sit on DIA Board as Part of Millage Promise

The Detroit Institute of Arts named a Troy woman to its board of directors as part of an agreement following the August millage.

The Detroit Institute of Arts named Troy's Linda Orlans to its board as part of an agreement following the DIA’s successful millage in August.

Orlans was one of 11 members named to the Detroit Institute of Arts board of directors at its Nov. 14 meeting. Orlans is owner and managing partner of Orlans Associates, a founding shareholder of Orlans Moran PLLC in Boston, and a shareholder of eTitle Agency. Orlans received the George N. Bashara, Jr. Distinguished Alumni Award from Michigan State University College of Law and the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Central Great Lakes Award.

She also helped initiate the First Words Society through Beaumont Hospital Foundation and was a founding member of Women Executives in Banking. Orlans was a fundraising chair for Junior Achievement of Southeastern Michigan, where she is on the advisory board. She has supported The Parade Company and held leadership roles with the Michigan Opera Theatre.

In August, voters passed a 10-year tax of 0.2 mills to support the Detroit Institute of Arts. 

At 0.2 mills, a Troy taxpayer owning a $200,000 home, with a taxable value of $100,000, would be expected to pay about $20 a year.

In return for this financial support, residents and school groups from the three counties that supported the millage (Macomb, Oakland and Wayne) receive free admission to the museum for the next decade.

Also as part of the August millage, the art institute authorities established in Macomb, Oakland and Wayne counties each appointed two members to the board: Wayne county, Hubert Massey and Amy DeBrunner; Macomb county, Lillian Demas and Ritzenhein; and Oakland county, Jennifer Fischer and Thomas Guastello.

Also joining the board are Andrea Dickson, Antoine Garibaldi, Mary Kramer, Donald Ritzenhein and Irvin Reid. Re-elected are Nicole Eisenberg, Mary Ann Gorlin, Reuben Munday, Meryl Podolsky, Sandra Seligman, Rhonda Welburn and Henry Wineman. Several long-time board members were elected to emeritus status: Andrew L. Camden, Elaine C. Driker, David E. Meador, John W. Stroh III and Amanda Van Dusen.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something